ZIFA News & Updates


Warriors Coach Kalisto Pasuwa has named a 31-member provisional squad set to begin preparations for the Total Africa Cup of Nations to be played in Gabon from 14 January to 5 February 2017.

The coach retained the mainstay of the team which enjoyed an impressive run in the qualifying round where Zimbabwe qualified for the finals with a match to spare.

Khama Billiat, Knowledge Musona, Tatenda Mkuruva, Willard Katsande and Costa Nhamoinesu are among the Warriors who starred in the qualifiers and are going to compete for a place in the final 23 to make it to Gabon.

Among the fairly new faces are Tinotenda Kadewere, Oscar Machapa and Bruce Kangwa who were all introduced as second half substitutes when Zimbabwe thrashed Tanzania 3 nil in a preparatory match played at the National Sports Stadium.

Goal scorers in Zimbabwe’s match against Tanzania, Nyasha Mushekwi and Mathew Rusike are part of a strikers list which also has the ABSA Premiership’s current leading scorer, Tendai Ndoro and Evans Rusike.

Two of the 11 best players from the just ended local premiership; soccer star, Hardlife Zvirekwi and Liberty Chakoroma are among the local crop angling for a place in the AFCON squad; so are Lawrence Mhlanga, Raphael Kutinyu, Ronald Chitiyo and Highlanders FC’s Tendai Ndlovu.

Dynamos defender, Elisha Muroiwa returns to the fold following an injury induced sabbatical.

Camp begins on the 27th of December and the team is scheduled to fly out for a preparatory match against Cote d’ Ivoire on Boxing Day [26 December 2016]

Pasuwa’s men are set to play another friendly match against Cameroon on the 10th of January.

Zimbabwe’s previous two attempts at the continental finals both ended at the group stage; and the current group has the onus to try and surpass their predecessors’ exploits.

Provisional Squad


  1. Donovan Bernard (How Mine)
  2. Tatenda Mkuruva (Dynamos)
  3. Nelson Chadya (Ngezi platinum)
  4. Takabva Mawaya (Hwange)


  1. Costa Nhamoinesu (AC Sparta Praha)
  2. Blessing Moyo (Maritzburg United)
  3. Bruce Kangwa (Azam FC)
  4. Elisha Muroiwa (Dynamos)
  5. Hardlife Zvirekwi (Caps United)
  6. Oscar Machapa (AS Vita Club)
  7. Liberty Chakoroma (Ngezi Platinum)
  8. Onismor Bhasera (Supersport United)
  9. Lawrence Mhlanga (Chicken Inn)
  10. Teenage Hadebe (Chicken Inn)
  11. Tendai Ndlovu (Highlanders)


  1. Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows)
  2. Willard Katsande (Kaizer Chiefs)
  3. Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  4. Raphael Kutinyu (Chicken Inn)
  5. Kudakwashe Mahachi (Golden Arrows)
  6. Marshall Mudehwe (FC Platinum)
  7. Talent Chawapiwa (ZPC Kariba)
  8. Marvelous Nakamba (Vitesse Arnhem)
  9. Ronald Chitiyo (Harare City)


  1. Cuthbert Malajila (Bidvest Wits)
  2. Evans Rusike (Maritzburg United)
  3. Knowledge Musona (KV Oostende)
  4. Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang)
  5. Mathew Rusike (Helsingborgs IF)
  6. Tendai Ndoro (Orlando Pirates)
  7. Tinotenda Kadewere (Djurgardens IF)

Leave a Reply