ZIFA News & Updates


Coach names 18 Mighty Warriors to play Namibia

Sithethelelwe Sibanda has selected the 18 Mighty Warriors to play away to Namibia in the first leg of an Africa Women Cup of Nations first round qualifier on 5 April.

The squad is dominated by experienced players who have been playing together for a long time.

The returning trio of Emmaculate Msipa, Mavis Chirandu and Felistas Muzongondi all made the team, having missed the previous major tournament due to work commitments.

Rutendo Makore has to pass a late fitness test on 2 April if she is to take part in the back to back qualifiers, having suffered an ankle injury which saw her missing Sporting Club Huelva’s Liga Feminina victory on 1 April.

“Rutendo is a vital member of the suqad, but if she cannot be part of the team, I am confident other players are equally capable of doing the job,” Sibanda said

Maudy Mafuruse returns for contention to lead the line following her six-month trial stint in Iceland in 2017. She will be competing for a place upfront with Susan Nyama, Vimbai Mharadzi and Erina Jeke.

Sibanda happy with team progress

At the back, the only fairly new name is Edline Mutumbami, among mainstays [Nobuhle Majika, Sheila Makoto, Nobukhosi Ncube and Lynett Mutokuto].

The Mighty warriors have been in camp since the 19th of March and the coach is satisfied that the training period made up for players’ lack of competitive football for six months.

“Since there  has been no  league football since September 2017, the girls are not 100% fit yes, but as a technical team we are happy with their gradual progress.

“We will largely rely on the wealth of experience that we have in the team to take us to the next stage ,” she added

The return leg at home will be played at Rufaro Stadium on 8 April.

The winner of the two-legged qualifier will meet either Zambia or Tanzania in the second and final round of qualifiers for the final tournament to be played in Ghana in 2018




Chido Dzingirai (Correctional Queens), Manyara Mandara (Mwenezana Queens)


Nobuhle Majika (Inline Academy), Nobukhosi Ncube (New Orleans Queens), Sheila Makoto (Blue Swallows Queens), Lynett Mutokuto (Black Rhinos Queens), Edline Mutumbami (Blue Swallows Queens),


Talent Mandaza © (Black Rhinos Queens), Daisy Kaitano (Black Rhinos Queens), Marjory Nyaumwe (Correctional Queens), Emmaculate Msipa (Black Rhinos Queens), Mavis Chirandu (Black Rhinos Queens). Felistas Muzongondi (Black Rhinos Queens), Berita Kabwe (Correctional Queens)


Maudy Mafuruse (Faith Drive Queens), Susan Nyama (Herentals Queens), Erina Jeke (Correctional Queens), Vimbai Mharadzi (Blue Swallows Queens)









Leave a Reply