ZIFA News & Updates

COSAFA Cup Draw: Warriors’ shot for a third successive title

Reigning Champions Zimbabwe will get their title defence at the quarter final stage of the 2019 COSAFA Cup on 1 June against winners of Group A.

Teams drawn into Group A at the draw conducted on the evening of 2 May are Angola, eSwatini, Comoros and Mauritius.

The Warriors are among 6 seeded teams which will not play the preliminary stage of the tournament. These are Zambia, Lesotho, South Africa, Botswana and guest nation and AFCON-bound Uganda.

Uganda are filling in the fourteenth spot in place of Madagascar who declined the invitation to play in the regional showpiece.

Teams in Group B are as follows; Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi and Seychelles.

Already record six-time Champions, Zimbabwe will be looking to stretch the record further and also win the title a record three times in a row.

An AFCON preparatory match against the Super Eagles of Nigeria set for 8 June will mean that team selection for the COSAFA games will leave room for the coaches to also assemble a team to compete in West Africa.


Group A: Angola, eSwatini, Comoros, Mauritius

Group B: Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi, Seychelles


Quarter Finals Fixtures

Zambia vs Group A Winners 1/6/19

Lesotho vs Uganda 1/6/19

Zimbabwe vs Group B Winners 2/6/19

South Africa vs Botswana 2/6/19

Leave a Reply