ZIFA News & Updates

COSAFA U17 Preps on course

Fifty talented players selected from several provinces will converge at ZIFA Village on Thursday 7 July to compete for a place in a 30-member provisional squad ahead of the COSAFA Under_17 Championship in Mauritius later this month.

Coaches Tafadzwa Mashiri and Michael Madzivanyika will conduct the trials, with assistance from ZIFA Technical Director, Wilson Mutekede and senior team coach, Sunday Chidzambga.

Speaking to www.zifa.org.zw, Mutekede  commended the coaches for their efforts in coming up with a group of players that is drawn from different parts of the country.

“To some extent, we can say this group of boys is representative of the talent we have in the country.

“Of course there are logistical issues with regards to our reach in remote areas but I am satisfied with the way they came up with this group.

I am confident that by the time the team shapes up, we will have a fairly competitive team, Mutekede said.

The Technical Director underscored that despite the evident progress made so far, there is need to continue to improve the manner in which junior teams are selected.

“The idea is to always do better than the previous time. We are hoping to cast the net even wider in upcoming tournaments because this tournament has been incorporated into AFCON qualifying criteria.

“We need to have the best possible team to represent the country, not just this group, but the future senior teams.

“If we get it right on these boys, we can also have hope of improving at all levels,” Mutekede  added.

The tournament to be held in Mauritius for the third year running will run from 19 to 29 July..

In 2017, Zimbabwe were eliminated at the group stages after losing all three group matches.

Munashe L Pini
Billy L Antonio
Nestelroy T Gurupira
Wesley Chitsumba
Malvin Soko
Simbarashe Dhauka
Collet Ndiraire
Sean T Mzinde
Nathan P Mutasa
Tapiwa Mandinyenya
Gift T Konga
Malcolm Mapondera
Wesley Murozvi
Tinotenda Munengami
Yassin Labukeni
Oscar Magejo
Munashe Katondo
Panashe Mtimbanyoka
Tinashe Maishereni
Ceasar Dube
Zubair Alli
Nkosinathi Mtetwa
Blessing Munana
Tanaka Zingwe
Panashe Phiri
Darrell Ruzive
Thandolwenkosi Ngwenya
Munashe Manyeruke
Maqhawe Moyo
Tatenda Matenga
Cephas Basikoro
Vengesai Ditima
Cossam Bandson
Lincoln Mudzingaidzo
Blessed Dzingai
Munyaradzi Chakuchichi
Macdonald Tawanda
Jacob Matiza
Sonboy Ndlovu
Tinotenda Tsikwa
Phillip Mukwenyi
Gerald Sibanda
Michael Dube
Allen Gasela
Simbarashe Madzivire
Malven Hativagoni
Oscar Dube
Lexington Mujokoro
Simbarashe Sibanda
Mthambisi Ncube

Leave a Reply