ZIFA News & Updates


Warriors head coach, Kalisto Pasuwa, has named the 23 Warriors who will represent Zimbabwe at the Africa Cup of Nations finals in Gabon from 14 January to 5 February.

Familiar names which featured prominently during the qualifiers dominate the selection but late entrants, Bruce Kangwa, Oscar Machapa and Tinotenda Kadewere made it into the AFCON squad.

The initial 31-member provisional squad was trimmed to 26 earlier in the week; and the three who could not make the final squad are Farai Madhanaga, Marshall Mudehwe and under_20 international, Nelson Chadya

Of the 23 selected players, 16 play club football abroad while the other seven are locally based; that is all three goalkeepers and four defenders.

The team is scheduled to leave on Saturday morning headed for Cameroon where they will conclude their preparations with a friendly match against the Indomitable lions on 10 January.

Five days later, against Algeria, Pasuwa’s men will begin their quest to qualify for the quarter finals, a feat that has eluded Zimbabwe on two previous attempts [2004 & 2006].

Zimbabwe’s other Group B opponents are Senegal and Tunisia whom they will play on 19 and 23 January respectively.

If the Warriors’ form during the qualifiers is anything to go by, bettering Zimbabwe’s fortunes at the AFCON finals on the third attempt is feasible; notwithstanding the big names within their opponents’ squads.



  1. Bernard Donovan Fungai (How Mine)
  2. Mkuruva Tatenda (Dynamos)
  3. Mawaya Takabva (ZPC Kariba)


  1. Nhamoinesu Costa (AC Sparta Praha)
  2. Mhlanga Lawrence (Chicken Inn)
  3. Muroiwa Elisha (Dynamos)
  4. Hadebe Teenage Lingani (Chicken Inn)
  5. Bhasera Onismor (Supersport United)
  6. Kangwa Bruce (Azam FC)
  7. Machapa Oscar (AS Vita Club)
  8. Zvirekwi Hardlife (Caps United)


  1. Phiri Danny (Golden Arrows)
  2. Katsande Willard (Kaizer Chiefs)
  3. Nakamba Marvelous (Vitesse Arnhem)
  4. Mahachi Kudakwashe (Golden Arrows)
  5. Billiat Khama (Mamelodi Sundowns)


  1. Musona Knowledge (KV Oostende)
  2. Ndoro Tendai (Orlando Pirates)
  3. Kadewere Philana Tinotenda (Djurgardens IF)
  4. Mushekwi Nyasha (Dalian Yifang)
  5. Rusike Evans (Maritzburg United)
  6. Rusike Tyrell Matthew Benjamin (Club Sportif Sfaxien)
  7. Malajila Cuthbert Lifasi (Bidvest Wits)


Leave a Reply