ZIFA News & Updates

Young Warriors pass eligibility test

All twenty players representing Zimbabwe at the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations Under-17 Championship were pronounced eligible to participate in the competition.

The players underwent a mandatory Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) scan to ascertain whether they were born on or after 1 January 2002.

The mandatory MRI scans are a measure introduced by COSAFA to discourage and curb age-cheating in the sport.

In the previous tournament, member associations conducted the tests on their own but this year the exercise was moved to the host nation because the tournament now serves as the qualifiers for the Africa Cup of Nations.

The Confederation of African Football passed the decision to introduce zonal qualifiers where winners in each of the seven zones will join hosts for the AFCON finals.

Below are the 20 Young Warriors in Mauritius.


Malcolm Louis Tendayi Mapondera, Gerald Munashe Sibanda


Cossam Junior Bandason, Simbarashe Dhauka, Malvern Soko, Macdonald Keith Tawanda, Malvern Hativagoni


Onward Munashe Manyeruke, Ethan Simbarashe Moyo, Lincolin Madzingaidzo, John Hazem Bonomali, Simbarashe Terrence Madzivire, Wesley Tinotenda Chitsumba, Sibusiso Ishmael Moyo, Collett Takudzwa Ndiraire, Nathan Panahse Mutasa


Tapiwa Mandinyenya, Tinotenda Faber Munengami, Thandolwenkosi Methuseli Ngwenya, Tanaka Element Matenga

Leave a Reply